Taroko National Park, Taiwan…

Ilha Formosa – beautiful island – Taiwan will touch your heart as it’s touched mine… ❤

motto:”Come and see the beauty of our island, it’s so colourful and pretty… our island is a paradise, come and taste the best… our people are so friendly, it will be the most amazing journey for your heart to feel and see…”(A-mei) – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAmnitVzsgY

ce parc est une pure merveille… la rivière Taroko et son lit ont du mal à se faufiler parmi les rochers de marbre et de granit… il y a un sentier spectaculaire entre les falaises abruptes, droites comme des sentinelles, couvertes de végétation tropicale dense… Taroko hurle et se débat à leurs pieds, en continuant de couler parmi les géants insoucieux… maisonnettes, pagodes, temples donnent l’impression d’être carrément accrochés aux versants dont les sommets se cachent souvent dans le brouillard… des cascades limpides, pressées et assourdissantes surgissent des parois gris, des dizaines de tunnels, des passerelles qui offrent un panorama unique sur les gorges pittoresques… à Tienhsiang, j’ai traversé un petit pont suspendu au-dessus d’un gouffre effrayant, afin d’arriver à un temple et à une pagode “nichés” contre le versant opposé… paysages impressionnants et images inoubliables, à couper le souffle pendant qqs secondes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Splendid Taroko national park(since 1986) – a natural wonder of about 19kms, an absolute must-see and must-visit in Taiwan: impressive mountains, waterfalls, cliffs and canyons… this park is a pure gem! Taroko river and its bed have a lot of trouble sneaking among the marble and granite rocks… there’s a spectacular trail between steep cliffs, straight like sentinels, covered with thick tropical vegetation… you can hear the river screaming and fighting at their feet, continuing to flow down by the nonchalant giants… small houses, pagodas, temples give us the impression of being downright, clinging to the mountainsides whose tops often hide in the fog… crystal-clear, hasty and deafening waterfalls suddenly show up from gray walls, dozens of tunnels, footbridges that offer a unique view of the picturesque gorges… in Tianxiang, I crossed a little suspended catwalk above a scary chasm to reach a temple and a pagoda “glued” to the opposite side of the cliffs… dramatic landscapes, unforgettable images, simply breathtaking for a few seconds.
* * *
P.S. A-mei is an aboriginal Taiwanese pop singer and songwriter, a pretty, talented and famous star all over Asia… you can listen to her nice songs on youtube… 🙂

About Mél@nie

https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/

Posted on 11 February 2014, in melanie. Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. I’ve not been to this park but I know of it, Melanie. A fellow blogger has “taken us” with her on her travels Like your photos prove, it truly is a wonderful place. Here’s the link to her post, if you’d like to see it. http://www.foodiebaker.com/2013/01/carp-lake-and-taroko-national-park-at.html

  2. Vraiment magnifique post, Mélanie, tes images sont superbes et j’adore ton écrit, je voudrais être là-bas, mais je ne crois pas que je pourrais marcher sur ce pont suspendu! 🙂 Merci et bon mercredi, gros bisous! 🙂

  3. “Via via vieni via con me…” – conosci la canzone di Paolo Conte?

    DheramentrepioveaRoma

  4. It’s really beautiful down there… 🙂 xoxo

  5. Ce qu’elles sont jolies tes photos Mélanie… et bravo pour ton équilibre sur ce p’tit pont suspendu! Bonne poursuite de ce mardi!

  6. Love how you capture the beauty of the places that you visit! {Abrazos}

  7. What a beautiful adventure you must be having!

  8. Beautiful photos… my family lived on Formosa – up on “Grass Mountain” in a military compound for two years – my Dad was in the Air Force at the time. I was in high school (back in the early 60’s) and I know things have changed there a LOT since then. Taipei had NO tall buildings… very “un-modern”… I’m sure I would not recognize it now! Pam

    • Hi Pam! I’ve been to Taiwan 4 times and I simply love it… as much as Japan! 🙂 I warmly recommend this “formosa” island, some spots reminded me of Hawaii… nice people, excellent food and safety everywhere!

  9. Très belles photos! Bonjour de Montréal, Canada.

    • Bonjour, Linda et welcome! 🙂 merci pour ta visite, “cousine”! J’aime bcp ton pays et ta belle province – j’y suis allée qqs fois! 🙂 amitiés toulousaines et à+! 🙂

  10. Magnificent scenery. Was the weather hot and humid when you were there?

  11. Je prends beaucoup de plaisir à contempler tes photos: dépaysement garanti. Si on veut comprendre l’art de l’estampe, chinoise, japonaise, tu fais la démonstration des paysages inspirants. Nous avons le projet d’une croisière sur le Mékong dans un an. Je voudrais voir la maison de Marguerite Duras, à Sadec, entre autres. Au fait, Mélanie, nous avions une amie qui collectionnait les images de ponts. Elle disait qu’ils sont le symbole de l’union entre les hommes. Franchir les obstacles… Pourquoi ai-je appelé mon blog “De l’autre côté du Fleuve”, et toi, “Mélanie’s crossroads”… Serions-nous plus passeurs que passants?…

    Bien à toi pour la future traversée…”Le vent se lève, il faut tenter de vivre” (Valéry)
    Bonne journée. Hervé

    • xié-xié=merci bcp, amigo! 🙂 un couple d’amis se rendra au Vietnam fin-mars, 2 semaines… ah, Duras et son “amant” chinois… j’ai aimé le film plus que son livre! 🙂 au fait mon blog s’appelle d’abord “my virtual playground” qui veut “traduire” que je ne me prends pas la tête et que je pratique l’auto-dérision… 🙂 quant au “carrefour-intersection(s)” entre l’ouest et l’est, c’est simplement un clin d’œil: je suis née en Roumanie, je vis en France et je voyage entre les 2 points cardinaux, parmi plusieurs fuseaux horaires… 🙂 comme tout chamois/isard(Cappy girl!) qui se respecte, j’aime grimper, sauter, franchir des ponts, des barrières, des obstacles, etc… 🙂 bon appétit et un après-midi agréable! à+! 🙂

  12. Cred ca bucataria taiwaneza este delicioasa si sanatoasa … ma bucur pentru tine ca ai ocazia sa vizitezi atatea tari, sa te intalnesti cu influentele culturale, sociale, culinare.

  13. Quelle merveille, merci pour tous tes beaux partages!

  14. Beautiful! 😉

  15. Buongiorno!… che posti meravigliosi! ciao! .marta