(on) the road to Hana, East Maui…

motto:”Rien derrière moi, tout devant moi, car c’est toujours comme ça sur la route. Mais peu importe, la route est la vie.”(Jack Kerouac – Sur la route)

sur la route de Hana, en pensant à Jack Kerouac… on dit que ce n’est pas la destination qui compte, mais toujours le chemin parcouru qui nous mène jusque là et surtout les détours… c’est le cas de Hana, petite bourgade située autour d’une baie tranquille qui compte environ 2000 habitants… cette route est incontournable, impressionnante avec ses 600 virages et 54 ponts, mais sans difficulté particulière; luxuriante et arrosée par les alizés du nord-est, elle surmonte des falaises imprenables, battues par des vagues furieuses et plonge par endroits au tréfonds des vallées envahies par la dense végétation tropicale, traversées par des ruisseaux frais ou des cascades… j’ai trouvé les fruits de ce trajet plus importants que la destination elle-même – une vraie récompense avec des endroits à couper le souffle, une merveilleuse aventure, des images et des souvenirs inestimables du paradis naturel Maui… devant ces paysages de carte postale avec des panoramas parfaits qui sont restés fondamentalement les mêmes depuis des centaines d’années, mon petit Sony a failli “exploser”! 🙂   

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

motto:“Nothing behind me, everything ahead of me, as is ever so on the road. But no matter, the road is life.”(Jack Kerouac – On the Road)

on the road to Hana, thinking of Jack Kerouac… Some say that it’s not the destination that matters, but the journey that takes us so far and deviations, above all… it’s the case of Hana, a small town situated around a quiet bay with about 2,000 inhabitants… this road is a must, with its impressive 600 curves and 54 bridges – but without any particular difficulty; lush vegetation, watered by the northeast trade winds, it overcomes breathtaking cliffs, beaten by wild waves and it sinks into the bottom of the valleys, overgrown with dense tropical forests, crossed by streams and fresh waterfalls… I’ve found the fruits of this day more important than the destination itself – a true reward with splendid views, a marvelous adventure, yielding images and priceless memories of natural Maui paradise… in front of this amazing scenery – postcard perfect panoramas that have remained basically the same for hundreds of years, my tiny Sony camera was gonna explode! 🙂

About Mél@nie

https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/

Posted on 14 February 2015, in melanie. Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. I agree it is the journey. I’ve known people who got to their destinations without knowing what the journey was. Kind of sad. Wish I was there. Looks awesome! I can hear the roaring waves crashing onto the shore. Yisraela

  2. A relire, Kerouac. Joile “route”.

  3. … mais elles sont superbes, tes photos! Continue ainsi ce chemin Mélanie… bonne route! ❤ 🙂

  4. Quels paysages merveilleux! Merci de les partager avec nous!

  5. The rock formations are very interesting. Obviously there is a lot of recent volcanic activity. Nice photos, Melanie. Leslie

  6. Maui is beautiful. I haven’t visited there yet. Enjoyed the slides. 🙂

  7. “…my tiny Sony camera was gonna explode!”

    Ha! I can so relate to that! When I know I am going to be taking lots of pictures and have no time to download them all, I just bring extra memory cards. I just love being places where every turn is another image you want to capture. I do like your Maui! 😀

  8. bewitching beautiful images… i feel to be there, too!

  9. Since lost Lemuria this slight remnant of its gardens has continued to enchant!

  10. Ah! What beauty Melanie! I’m so happy for you! 🙂 Maui is a place that has been on my radar for as long as I can remember… it seems there is something special there for me… and it would appear for you, as well! 😉 Thank you for sharing the beauty that moves you! ❤ ❤

  11. Jack! How many times have I read ‘On the Road’? Must take it down off the shelf again, it fits the mood as your words always fit, illustrate your pictures whilst your pictures illustrate your words. Balance. Perfect balance you have! 🙂

    • I’m hummin’:”hit the road, Jack!”(Ray Charles) 🙂 you do know Jack’s parents were Bretons from Québec… have you also read his amazing haikus?… mille merci, F! ❤

      • You are a MINE of information, dear M! I knew they were French Canadian but not that they were Bretons. I will ask my dear Breton friend if she knows this… if not she will be thrilled! And the Haikus… no I haven’t. Have just spent a happy hour reading what I could find on the web and have ordered ‘The Book of Haikus’ by JK… I NEED them! 🙂 x

  12. I love Hana and the journey to get there as well. I haven’t been for a while now, and haven’t had a “reason” to go, but perhaps seeing this post will be enough of a reason to get in my car and go! thank you.

