“If you’re going to San Francisco…”

N.B. this post is dedicated to my beloved French-American couple: ❤   

Le pont – Gilles Vigneault

Vague est le pont qui passe à demain de naguère
Et du milieu de l’âge on est des deux côtés…
Le mur ne fait pas l’ombre et n’est pas la lumière
Qu’on appelait l’hiver qu’on nommera l’été…
Il n’est pierre de moi qui dorme quand tu danses
Chacune est une oreille et chacune te voit…
Ton immobilité me tient lieu de silence
Et chacun de tes mots tombe à l’envers de moi…
Je dis à mots petits de grands espaces d’âge
Qui font en leur milieu croire qu’il est midi…
J’ai peur d’être le pont qui prend pour son voyage
Le courant de l’eau entre ses bras surpris…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Bridge – Gilles Vigneault

the bridge that links past to tomorrow is dim and we are on both ends during our middle age… the wall has neither shade and nor light we used to call it ‘winter’ and we’ll name it ‘summer’… none of my stones sleeps whenever you dance each one is an ear and everyone can see you… your stillness has replaced my silence and now all your words fall behind me… I use short notes for our vast age spaces that make believe it’s already noon inside… I fear being the bridge that carries me within its journey into the water stream between its surprised arms…
* * *
“if you’re going to San Francisco, be sure to wear some flowers in your hair…” – Scott McKenzie: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bch1_Ep5M1s

About Mél@nie

https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/ Mélanie Bedos-Toulouse @ Facebook

Posted on 5 May 2015, in melanie. Bookmark the permalink. 43 Comments.

  1. I was listening to Scott McKenzie – San Francisco last night. It is an iconic song that I still enjoy many years after it was released.

  2. San Francisco is somewhere I have yet to visit, and my hub and I are hoping to get there next year. The photos are calling me with all their splendor. 🙂

  3. A lovely reach out to your beautiful children… flower children indeed! 🙂

  4. I spent a lot of time in San Francisco and my kids and I would make many day trips there. For my nickel, it is the best city in the entire Country and I would say Seattle is second. When I moved to France, I flew out of that airport! Lots of memories there… 🙂

  5. Doreen Fraietta

    Beautiful pictures! They look wonderful and happy. Love to you all! ❤️

  6. San Francisco change tant… Dommage. Mais la chanson est si belle. Merci Melanie.

  7. Ça y est, j’ai la tignasse qui r’pousse – idéal pour y planter des flowers! 😉

  8. une de ces rares villes où j’aurais aimé naître et vivre, où je ne suis passé que deux fois, trop rapidement, où j’espère retourner une autre fois dans ma vie…

    une chanson qui m’a fait rêver, jeune adulte…

    merci de me relancer dans de vieux souvenirs… la Tour Coit… sur les pas de Kerouac, Ginsberg et les autres, à la librairie City Lights… sur les pas qui mènent au coin de Hight Ashbury, « with flowers in your hair »… dans le parc du Golden Gate…

    merci

    • “o tempora, o mores!” ou nostalgie quand tu nous tiens… 🙂 j’ai appris que Philip Blondheim aka Scott McKenzie est mort il y a 3 ans, RIP.
      * * *
      merci, Fernan! 🙂

  9. Superbe série sur cette grande ville. Bonne soirée Mélanie.

  10. I looked up and saw home in your pictures. I have been there many many times and I never get tired of it. I have seen all of the places in your photos… up close and personal, except the painted monsters… lol

    There is a magical energy in that city… even as a kid I always felt very large walking down the streets. As a teen I was certain I could live there but never did.

    Beautiful picture of your daughter and son-in-law! Actually, they are always beautiful in pictures! 😀

  11. A truly lovely post Melanie. I did go to San Francisco and wore flowers in my hair. Love that song!

  12. A lovely post for your beloved ones.

  13. Bonjour Mela, avez vous fait le tour du monde?

  14. beautiful city… is it still a freaky town, too? the clip was so lovely, even janis and jimi inside! 🙂

  15. Now this is a city I have on my bucket list!

  16. I love all the angles of the Golden Gate Bridge. It is such a pretty sight! And you are so lucky to capture such images because many people say that it is hard to see most of the time due to cloud cover.

  17. One day San Francisco may be in my itinerary, diverse and interesting city by the pictures, my son has been there, and if I remember rightly, your second picture looks like the island of Alcatraz. Regards.

