L’isle-de-Noé – Noah’s islet…:-)

L’Isle-de-Noé est un pittoresque et agréable village dans le Gers, situé au confluent des 2 Baïses(la grande et la petite), il doit son nom au fait que les 2 petites rivières, juste avant de se rejoindre, l’enserrent de tous les côtés, comme dans une sorte d’îlot – qui a eu à souffrir de leurs débordements(inondations!) épisodiquement… mais je n’ai aperçu ni Noé, ni son arche – même pas Russell Crowe qui a joué le rôle de Noé dans le film de Darren Aronofsky, tourné pour la plupart en Islande… 🙂   

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Noah’s islet(L’Isle-de-Noé) is a quaint and pleasant village in the Gers department of southwestern France. Situated at the confluence of the 2 Baïse streams(1 large and 1 small), it owes its name to the fact that the 2 little rivers, just before merging together, surround it off, turning it into a sort of “isle” – which has occasionally suffered from their overflows(floods!)… but I haven’t seen either Noah, nor his ark – not even Russell Crowe who played Noah in Darren Aronofsky’s movie, mostly shot in Iceland: 🙂 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6qmj5mhDwJQ

About Mél@nie

https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/

Posted on 2 June 2015, in melanie. Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. So, so beautiful! I hope I can visit there someday.

  2. Such lovely pictures. Coming here and reading your blog is like a mini-break of colour and beauty from the mundane day-to-day. 🙂

  3. I so love the little ducks.

  4. What a lovely place. 😀

  5. J’adore les paysages aquatiques!

  6. Lovely and charming, my kind of place. But I think Russell Crowe would have lacked for excitement!

    • mine, too, as I’m an earthly sign… btw, Russell comes to France several times/year: he loves French refined gastronomy and excellent wines – bon appétit & cheers! 🙂

  7. I can’t look at posts like this without feeling itchy feet! Lovely images, Melanie.

  8. Very lovely indeed!

  9. Un bien bel endroit, que ce lieu, Mélanie! Bonne poursuite de ce mardi! Amitiés ❤ 🙂

  10. I read that Noah disappointed after the little rain, likes to drink in excess floods of wine, perhaps he’s in Bordeaux’s vineyards! 😀 Thanks Mélanie, I see it as a charming place to rest alone or to escape, accompanied, from the world.

    • well, he didn’t need to go to Bordeaux, as the Gers wines are quite excellent, too… salud-cheers! 🙂 me encanta ir al bosque, lejos del mundanal ruido y acompañada, naturalmente… 😉

  11. I suppose at time of flooding they did feel isolated like Noah’s ark. 😉 By the way Noah is a very popular boy’s name at the moment in NZ. We have a whole generation of new Noahs. It will be fun when they enter school in a few years time. These Noahs will not be on their own.

  12. I’ve been absent, but am gradually recovering myself. We will be making a trip South West later this month – I shall write for suggestions, when back in France, but this looks lovely. Really lovely. I do hope all is well and shining in your world, you lovliest of lovely creatures! 🙂 xxx

    • welcome back, young lady! ❤ otherwise, stay healthy, optimistic and keep me posted about your trip to Midi-Pyrénées, SVP… à+! 😉

  13. It looks like a nice place to explore. I love the red flowers against the building – gorgeous!

