Sunset in “Conch Republic” aka Key West, Florida…:-)

let’s jaywalk across Key West with mama-hen and its chickens… 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Key West’s motto is:”one human family!” – I’m a rebel with many causes(not a “Rebel Without a Cause”!), therefore, I did jaywalk like the local and popular chickens along Hemingway’s footsteps and those of Tennessee Williams to get to southernmost US continental point… 🙂 well, I could’ve waved to Fidel Castro, as Cuba is only 90 miles away from Key West, just like “smartie” Sarah Palin who claimed she could wave to Putin from her Alaskan porch… 🙂 last but not least – if you ever get to Key West and if you like Hemingway’s works, stop over @ his home:
https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/2015/01/20/ernesto-mi-amor/

About Mél@nie

https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/ Mélanie Bedos-Toulouse @ Facebook

Posted on 19 July 2015, in melanie. Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. You’ve been to so many wonderful places. Great shots 🙂

  2. Charmant – moins brutal que le Key West de Koltès – mais ce ne sont pas les mêmes histoires qui s’y vivent, le soleil et les nuits sont sans doute pareils! 🙂

  3. I loved visiting his home in Key West, Melanie! In fact it was one of my favorite places… it was like I feel the words he had written there! Hope you are well! ♡

    • same here, Lorrie dear! ❤ Hemingway and Steinbeck have been my favourite American writers since highschool and I've been lucky to visit their homes… 🙂 thanx for your friendly visit, my very best and good-night! c u asap! 🙂

  4. Was this recently?

  5. A very cute little procession! Lovely photos, Mélanie. 🙂

  6. A beautiful place. Wonderful.

  7. Always wanted to visit Key West – thanks for the visual adventure!

  8. That sunset is breathtaking *_* – thanks Mélanita, across your eyes, Florida looks like a calm place, usually the image I’ve got from tv series is one of continuous party.

  9. I love KW. We were actually talking about taking a day trip, on one of the boat excursions while we are down in Fl. – so much history, and good food! 🙂

    • we loved the Florida keys, and in Key Largo we also visited the “African Queen” boat, used in the famous movie with Humphrey Bogart & Katharine Hepburn… 🙂

  10. I do hope to get there at some point. I’ll follow the chickens.

    • it’s much easier and simpler for you, Dan: you live in the USofAmerica… yep, follow the chickens and the roosters, like in Kauai, Hawaii… 🙂

  11. Funny, you should write this today… I’ve been re-reading Tennessee Williams’ ‘Cat on a Hot Tin Roof’ – his evocation of searing heat being very apt in the current weather. Now to seek out a bit of Hemingway for good measure!