“Mais où sont les neiges d’antan?…”:-)

how is YOUR end of January, guys?… mine is colorful: golden yellow, purple, white and blazing red! 🙂
* * *
You may have read or heard of François Villon’s famous rhetorical question:“But where are the snows of yesteryear?…” – a few pix taken these past days – unbelievable but true: iris, daffodils and mimosa flowers in January – global warming or what?!… 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

P.S. I’ve been an “evergreen fan” and a “tree hugger” since my childhood… I totally agree with Jane Austen:“How beautiful, how welcome, how wonderful the evergreen!” – and I guess we realize mostly in winter that pine, cypress or fir trees are really evergreens… 🙂

About Mél@nie

https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/

Posted on 26 January 2016, in melanie. Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. My January is beautiful in Scottsdale, Arizona. 🙂 Back home in Eastern Canada, the winter hasn’t been showing its brute force yet. I hope it isn’t saving it for my return, lol! 🙂

  2. You are north of us here in middle Tennessee. We just had a week of 8 inches of snow. More than we have had in many years. That isn’t usual there is it, to have all those blooming this early?

  3. I had to smile, Melanie, when I saw this post’s title. It was part of our French curriculum in secondary school. At one point, we listened to a recording of the masterwork. I do not remember anything of the poem or recording save the baritone voice asking the question, “Mais où sont les neiges d’antan?” Thank you for giving me cause to smile this morning. 🙂

  4. me too, tree hugging! Beautiful photos!

  5. In Peru almost every tree is evergreen… We don’t have the warm explosions of oranges and yellows like in Europe or North America. And I think our shades of green are darker.

    • in Europe and North America, pine, cypress and fir trees are usually called “evergreens” or “conifers” = trees that bear cones and evergreen needlelike or scalelike leaves; conifers are of major importance as the source of softwood, and also supply resins and turpentine… 🙂

  6. Je n’ai guère de fleurs mais le fait est que ce mois de janvier fut très doux. Attendons février! Bonne soirée, Mo

  7. The snow is on the ground, and on the skis run in Savoie, it’s a fact, I can proove it.

  8. Daffodils are popping up here, but the mountains (ten miles away) are still covered in snow. Guess that answers where the snow has gone. 🙂 – Curt

  9. So awesome and gorgeous!

  10. Where have all the flowers gone?… gone to Melanie, every one! Gorgeous colours and it is so true… it is only in winter that we really notice the evergreen. Their time to shine either grandiose green or frosted silver or laden with snow to contrast – they are ever-beautiful! 🙂

  11. Jolies ces fleurs mais… tu embrasses vraiment les arbres? 🙂 mon janvier jusqu’à maintenant se trouve sur mon dernier post. Pas de neige non plus…

  12. Ah, beautiful colors to warm the soul. As much as I love to see the evergreens against the snow, there’s nothing like the scent of a flower. I believe that theses scents really do prolong our lives! 🙂 thanks for sharing your beauty! Now that I’m back home in the cold, I do appreciate it even more! 😉

  13. Regaling in beauty. ☺️ I’ve just read somewhere something we often forget: nature prolongs our life.

  14. The snow seems to have gone elsewhere this year! Spring looks good.

  15. Mois de janvier coloré aussi chez nous, mais nous avons eu quatre jours de vrai gel et les fleurs ont quand même un peu souffert. Bonne journée! Bises!

  1. Pingback: “Mais où sont les neiges d’antan?…”:-) | Il Blog di Tino Soudaz 2.0 ( un pochino)

