back to quaint Carmel-by-the-sea…

retour au pittoresque Carmel-by-the-sea après plusieurs années, lorsqu’un certain Clint Eastwood était son maire pendant 2 ans dans les années 80… et contente de voir “Galerie, rue Toulouse”! ❤ Situé à 190kms au sud de San Francisco, le charmant Carmel est également connu pour plusieurs lois inhabituelles, y compris une interdiction de porter des chaussures à talons hauts sans autorisation, afin d'éviter des accidents causés par les trottoirs irréguliers… 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

back to quaint Carmel-by-the-sea after several years, when a certain Clint Eastwood was its Mayor for 2 years in the 80’s… and glad to come across “Galerie rue Toulouse”! ❤ Situated 120 miles south of San Francisco, charming Carmel is also known for several unusual laws, including a prohibition on wearing high-heel shoes without a permit, enacted to prevent lawsuits arising from tripping accidents caused by irregular pavement… 🙂

About Mél@nie

https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/

Posted on 4 June 2016, in melanie. Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. I haven’t been to the west coast in years. Your photos reminded me of how much we enjoyed our last visit to Carmel.

  2. Toujours aussi joli, Carmel.

  3. omg… how beautiful and breathtaking! my kind of place… a dream comes true!

  4. It has been longer than I care to remember but I was there. A child in the back seat of the car on the way back to southern CA from grandma’s house in Canada… 🙂 Did you make it to Solvang?

    • I loved Carmel 3 decades ago and I’ve just enjoyed 2 days spent here… never been to “Danish” Solvang, but I’ve made it to Santa Barbara! 🙂

      • Only 3 decades… They were lovely but we didn’t stay long. Have you been to Monterey Bay? You can actually swim with the otters and they have no fear. 🙂

  5. Carmel and Big Sur have been two of my favorites escapes, seemingly forever— back before Clint Eastwood was mayor, back when he first owned the Hogs Breath Inn, back when I could still park my VW Van on the bay south of Carmel and camp out for free, back a long, long time ago. –Curt

  6. Tellement charmant, Melanie.
    Leslie

  7. Wow! What a lovely place! All the best, Melanie!

  8. I haven’t been there for a long time. Thanks for a memory jog today.

  9. Been there , too. By the way, there are no house numbers there. Tough for mailmen.

  10. What a beautiful place! Thank you for sharing.

  11. A permit to wear high heels? Ha, ha… can’t see many ‘Françaises’ doing that! But perfect for me, I love my flats. Beautiful place, Mél@anie. Enjoy your trip! 🙂

  12. Oh this is lovely, I lived for a time in Pebble Beach close by and loved Carmel and Big Sur!

