John & Mel @ Cannery Row…:-)

N.B. John Steinbeck has been one of my favourite American authors since my highschool years and I still reread his works. Once at the University, I wrote an essay called “The Evolution of Steinbeck’s Humanism from ‘Of Mice and Men’ to the ‘Winter of Our Discontent'” and I got the highest grade: 10/10(A+!)… 🙂
* * *
“It has always seemed strange to me… the things we admire in men, kindness and generosity, openness, honesty, understanding and feeling are the concomitants of failure in our system. And those traits we detest, sharpness, greed, acquisitiveness, meanness, egotism and self-interest are the traits of success.”(John Steinbeck – Cannery Row)
* * *
with my beloved John @ Cannery Row, Monterey, California – 3 weeks ago… ❤

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“I believe a strong woman may be stronger than a man, particularly if she happens to have LOVE in her heart. I guess a loving woman is indestructible.”(John Steinbeck – East of Eden)

About Mél@nie

https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/

Posted on 23 June 2016, in melanie. Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Have you been to the Steinbeck Museum in Salinas?

  2. La phrase de Steinbeck est très juste et témoigne d’une bonne observation! Bonne soirée à toi, Mo

  3. Da, o femeie care iubește este mai tare decât orice! 😀

    Să ai zile senine, Melania!

  4. C’est marrant, mais Monterey, c’est la ville de Zorro, mais je ne pensais pas qu’il y avait la mer, seulement des rancheros, et des peones et le sergent Garcia. Pour Steinbeck, j’ai lu quelques livres de lui quand j’étais plus jeune, Croc Blanc c’est de lui?

    • “Croc blanc”(White Fang) est de Jack London – californien aussi, dont les thèmes de prédilection ont été l’aventure et la nature sauvage…

  5. I also love Steinbeck! Great images and sentiments. I also have been there!

  6. More memories. Thank you. It’s rare when I’ve been to the places you feature, but I love it when it happens.

  7. Very good. I still have Tortilla flat and a few others in my study/library.
    (Looks like a nice trip you had/have) A bientôt!

  8. Steinbeck was one of my favourite authors too, Melanie.
    Leslie

  9. Excellent, Melanie! Your super grade at school does not surprise me. Keep enjoying our California and take care! 🙂

  10. Greetings to two passionate authors! 🙂

