my 3rd trip to UNIQUE Iceland…

motto:”Le paradis, c’est d’être sur terre.” – “Heaven is being on Earth.”(Christian Bobin)

… land of extremes and contrasts, below the Arctic Circle, where the Vikings who came from Norway took up residence around the year 900. Another great opportunity for me to attend and to experience again a remarkable geology lesson… volcanoes, glaciers, lava fields, geothermal areas, black sand beaches make up stunning and wild scenery with unpronounceable names, which according to weather and light, remind me of the beginning or the end of the world…
* * *
I agree with Björk about her native country:“Iceland – emotional landscapes and state of emergency – is where I want to be… to me, freedom is the best aphrodisiac…” ❤

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

cracked and smoking grounds reveal in certain places “the bowels of the earth”, but nevertheless 330 000 people live on this island, about 1/2 in its capital Reykjavik and in small coastal villages, proud to be “anchored” up there… with its relief, its clear-cut and raw colors, Iceland – the realm of glaciers, inspires strong and emotional feelings, where superlatives are at home, for the splendor of its landscapes is unique… hey, Nature’s lovers, if you seek wild beauty, peace and serenity, this island is for us!!!
* * *
P.S. I’ve been asked now and then:”Mélanie, do you collect any material ‘stuff'”?…” – nope, I only collect images & experiences over the retina of my heart… ❤

About Mél@nie

https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/

Posted on 20 August 2016, in melanie. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Amazing. I think these photos are even more breathtaking than the ones of other trips there. And I love that you are wearing bright red and blue. You look great. Thanks so much for sharing your trips. I enjoy them immensely.

  2. ”Le paradis, c’est d’être sur terre.” – Je suis bien d’accord car on ne sait pas comment c’est ailleurs… 😉

  3. Lovely photos, and you like red, eh? 🙂 –Curt

  4. What a fantastic view, Melanie! Iceland is a place on my daughter’s to visit list. Thank you for taking me with you along these spectacular walks with you! 🙂 Sue

  5. I don’t know how you avoid the “stuff” but you’ve collected some wonderful photos. Thanks for sharing these.

  6. I loved Iceland. I recommend to my friends that they go there before the tourists discover it.

    • Miss Mona, between the end of May and the beginning of October, Iceland has been simply “invaded” by foreign tourists(mostly Europeans) these past 10 years… this time, I’ve met more Canadians, Americans, and Chinese! 🙂

  7. What a wonderful and wild looking place! And a great post.

  8. Thank you, Melanie for sharing your trip with us. It looks so beautiful and wild there. What an amazing country.

    • avec joie, Leslie… 🙂 un petit “méli-mélo”, as I haven’t had time to select among hundreds of pix… btw, I’ve met lots of Canadians from Québec, Ontario and BC… small world! 🙂

  9. Beautiful, I loved my trip there and would go again any time, too, to see more of the amazing nature and spectacular views. Lovely to see you there enjoying it all. 🙂

