“Hey, I’ve got nothing to do today but smile…”(Paul Simon)

I wait for Elisabeth in front of the bistro, she should get here in about 10’… she celebrated her b’day a few days ago, out of town, with her close ones, and for years, we’ve repeated the same friendly ritual: for our b’days, we’ve had lunch or dinner @ a small restaurant… it’s a little chilly, yet fine weather, I stay outside to watch “life” in this tiny flowery square, and around me, several people “dipped” into their smartphones… well, I do NOT have one, and the addiction to these “devices” annoys me, because to me, real life is much more interesting than hovering or pretending to live within an endless virtual space, which suits and flatters the ego… I may be too “conservative” or not “modern”(updated?!) enough, and if so, I’m not alone! 🙂 I look at the other side of the street where a couple in their 50’s talk joyfully, they laugh and then, they kiss “good-bye”, and move away in opposite directions… I notice a big and frank smile over the face of the lady, our eyes meet and I naturally smile back… 🙂  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

all recent studies have proved that smiling openly does emphasize our positive emotions, and gives us a little breath of well-being… this is called “remanence”(retention!) – the continuation of a phenomenon after the disappearance of its cause, such as that of the smile, and the pleasure caused by exchanged glances… watching the cloudless blue sky, I say to myself that a warmhearted smile is always contagious, even though I’ve been absent from the conversation… my friend arrives, apologizes for the delay, due to the alternating traffic, I tell her why I smile, and she replies to me:”you know, Melanie, I’d like to have a lifetime with a “chain reaction of smiles” – I mean “retentive”… the truth is that we get the best results of life whenever we smile at it, thus here’s an easy reminder:”Today, give a stranger one of your smiles, as it might be the only sunshine he sees all day.”(H. Jackson Brown Jr)
* * *
have a smiling weekend, folks! 🙂

About Mél@nie

https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/

Posted on 28 April 2017, in melanie. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. … un sourire pour un Bon Jour… Thank you! 🙂

  2. Et vive le sourire! Surtout en ce printemps qui a fini par arriver! Bon week-end, Mo

  3. so this makes me smile, even more, Melanie… 🙂

  4. You get 100% agreement from me this morning, Melanie. A smile is a much more wonderful way to start a day than a cell phone! –Curt

  5. What a beautiful post! I love the photos of flowers, and the thoughts here about smiling!

  6. A smile makes everyone feel better, Melanie – as you say. I’m sending bountiful smiles your way. 🙂

  7. There is something about smiling that is truly contagious. Your post captures the joy of just being in the moment, and that made me smile, too. Wishing you a sunny weekend!

  8. Your tribute to smiles and your spring flowers made me smile, Melanie. Cheers! 🙂

  9. Fantastic post! I do find this to be true, as well. I have occasionally spent a day, purposefully smiling a nice warm smile to everyone I meet. The results are quite interesting. Some smile warmly back at me. Some are taken aback at first, but shyly smile back. Some are fearful, as if something bad might happen. My favorite is the one that smiles back with full enthusiasm… for a moment, two complete strangers share a beautiful intimacy, a secret to happiness. Except for the fearful ones… I know all left with a much brighter outlook than before we crossed paths. Best of all, it’s a natural way to improve mankind and it doesn’t cost a cent! 🙂

    • MILLE MERCI for your interesting comment, Mrs P! ❤ @ your last sentence – there's a French saying:"être aimable et souriant ne coûte rien, mais ça peut rapporter gros!" = eing kind and smiling does not cost anything, but it may bring back much!" 🙂

  10. Indeed, a smile somewhere and the face of the Earth has changed! Many thanks, Mélanie.

