2 août – hier, aujourd’hui, demain…:-)

“Car, vois-tu, chaque jour je t’aime davantage,
Aujourd’hui plus qu’hier et bien moins que demain…
Qu’importeront alors les rides du visage?
Mon amour se fera plus grave – et serein.
Songe que tous les jours des souvenirs s’entassent,
Mes souvenirs à moi seront aussi les tiens.
Ces communs souvenirs toujours plus nous enlacent
Et sans cesse entre nous tissent d’autres liens.”
* * *
pour les francophones, le poème “L’éternelle chanson” de Rosemonde Gérard:
http://poesie.webnet.fr/lesgrandsclassiques/poemes/rosemonde_g_rard/l_eternelle_chanson.html

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“For, you see, each day I love you more,
Today more than yesterday and less than tomorrow…
Who will ever care about the wrinkles of the face?
My love will be deeper – and peaceful.
Consider all the memories that pile up daily,
My own memories will also be yours.
These common memories keep on entwining us,
And they constantly weave new bonds between us.”
* * *
N.B. Rosemonde Gérard, French poet and Thespian, was Edmond Rostand’s wife, the author of the famous play “Cyrano de Bergerac”. These lines are from her poem, “L’éternelle chanson”(The Eternal Song) that she wrote to her husband in 1889. Her declaration has become an expression of ever-growing love.

About Mél@nie

https://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/about/

Posted on 2 August 2017, in melanie. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. So beautiful. Reminds me of my wife and I.

  2. Very nice. I’m so glad I have love in my life. ❤️

  3. It is like a couple who have been married/or together for a long time. They have a history.

  4. I’m sending a little love to add to the infinite ocean of it that you and your amour share on this, your very special day… xxx

